Skip navigation.

ICT Management. > Making Policies & Best Practice

Desert Island Standards

By National Computing Centre

Daniel Dresner of the National Computing Centre introduces eight standards which will help form strong foundations for your organisation's ICT systems.

The article include brief introductions to the following standards.

  • ISO 15288 Information Technology - Life Cycle Management - System Life Cycle Phases
  • ISO 9126 Software engineering - Product quality
  • BS 15000 IT Service Management
  • ISO 15504 Information technology - Software process assessment
  • The Data Protection Act 1998
  • STARTS Software Techniques for Reliable, Strusted Sytems
  • e-GIF - the e-Government Interoperability Framework
  • ISO 18019 Guidelines for the design and preparation of user focumentation for application software

Dresner says what each standard is for, and why and how you should use it.

Download and read the full article Desert Island Standards (PDF, 540kb)

This article requires Adobe Acrobat.  If you don't already have this, download it from Adobe.

About the author

National Computing Centre


PDF, Software

Published: 27th September 2006

Copyright © 2006 National Computing Centre

This article/survey is copyright The National Computing Centre and is published with the permission of The National Computing Centre.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 UK: England & Wales License.

User comments and discussion

If you have useful information to add to this article please Add a comment. Comments will appear after they have been moderated.

Discuss this topic in the Knowledgebase forums. This is a useful place to share knowledge, experiences, and ask questions.

Please sign in or register to be able to post a comment or discussion.